FAQs

Welcome to the Frequently Asked Questions page!

Take some time to browse through the questions here. You will find a comprehensive list of commonly asked questions and their answers. We also throw questions in here that do not belong in the guides. If you can't find a satisfactory answer, just drop us your question and we will get back to you at lightspeed.

Let's go!

A: Unsubscribe links allow email recipients to unsubscribe from receiving your future emails through MailMail. It is mandated by the FTC’s CAN-SPAM Act, and will be added for you if not found in your template. You may add your own unsubscribe link by including an <a href="{{{unsubscribe}}}">Unsubscribe</a> in your template.

A: Dynamic tags are words encompassed in double curly brackets, example {{name}}. They can be included in your template to make your emails more personalised. If you are a Pro user, MailMail will retrieve columns in your recipient lists that match your dynamic tags, and fill in the values in your template accordingly. All users must fill in default values for dynamic tags during campaign scheduling to account for missing values in recipient lists. If you are not a Pro user, your emails will only use these default values.

A: Dynamic tags are not case sensitive. Using {{firstname}} or {{FirstName}} in your template would refer to the same column firstname found in your mailing list. If columns of the same name are found across multiple mailing lists, the column from the mailing list with the higher order will be used. For example, given mailing lists with order 2 and order 3, the column from the mailing list with order 2 will be used.

A: Helper tags are words encompassed in triple curly brackets. Currently, MailMail is programmed to handle a number of helper tags. These tags are filled in automatically when sending an email. The tags are {{{year}}}, {{{unsubscribe}}}, {{{address}}}, and {{{company}}}.

A: Assets is a default folder created to store files uploaded through template builder. Non-Pro users will only be able to access this folder, while Pro users will be able to move files between folders.

A: Please use your legitimate personal or business details. According to the FTC’s CAN-SPAM Act, it is an offence to use false or misleading header information.

A: MailMail requires default values as a fail-safe. In the event where your recipient lists contain empty values, the default value will be used. Also, only default values will be used for non-Pro users, instead of recipient list values.

A: We have detected that the email column you picked does not seem to contain any email addresses. Please preview your mailing list or blacklist to ensure that you pick a column that contains email addresses.

A: All templates are by default ordered chronologically when they are created. In any folder, the newest template will always be sent first. You may reorder the template sending sequence by using the reorder function in their respective folders. Note that in the All folder option, the templates are strictly sorted in chronological order, where the last edited template will be shown first.

A: Yes. Any updates to existing templates will be reflected on the next email sent. You do not have to reschedule your campaign for the updated template to take effect.

A: Overages are fees applied when you exceed your plan limits. The overage fees are charged at $0.005 per email.

A: Yes. You will not be able to send a campaign exceeding 3 times the email limit of your plan. This ensures that you always have the correct plan for your campaign size.

A: When upgrading a plan, you will be immediately upgraded to your new plan with the billing cycle reset to the time of upgrade, whereby your new initial subscription fee will deduct the unused time from your previous subscription plan. For example, if you are currently on Day 15 of your Standard 5k Plan ($15/mo), and upgrade to Pro 50k Plan ($150/mo), you will be billed a prorated fee of $142.50 ($150 - (30-15)/30 * $15).

A: When downgrading a plan, you will retain your current plan until the end of your billing cycle, whereby your new subscription fee will be the price of the chosen subscription plan. For example, if you are currently subscribed to Pro 50k Plan ($150/mo) which expires on Day 30, and downgrade to Standard 5k Plan ($15/mo) before Day 30, you will retain your Pro 50k Plan until Day 30, whereby you be billed $15 on Day 30.

Need more help?

If you have a question that is not covered here, we would like you to contact us directly! Rest assured we will find someone knowledgeable enough to answer your query as soon as we can.

Contact us